Formula D 2017 - Long Beach

Formula Drift season 2017 kicked off last week with round 1 in the streets of Long Beach, California. Upgraded cars, new drivers, new cars, this year is going to be interesting. There is also a new 86 chassis driver - Cameron Moore, driving Nameless Performance Toyota 86!

Cameron Moore Drift toyota 86

Ken Gushi, Dai Yoshihara, Jhonnattan Castro have same cars with new liveries. Scion Racing has been renamed to Toyota Racing as there is no Scion anymore and Scion FRS is renamed to the "Toyota 86" as it was originally in Japan and most other countries.

Ken Gushi and Ryan Tuerck Toyota 86 2jz drifting

In Long Beach all of the 86/brz drivers qualified for Top32, only Ken Gushi and Ryan Tuerck advanced to TOP16.
Dai Yoshihara lost battle against Michael Essa because of failed power steering belt.
Jhonnattan Castro lost battle against Dean Kearney.
Jhonnattan Castro Toyota 86 vs Dean Kearney Formula Drift Long Beach

Gushi won top32 battle aigainst rooky Georgy Chivchyan who slowed down in notorious outer zone 2. Then Gushi lost battle with Chris Forsberg.
Ryan Tuerck set out great by qualifying 3rd and getting a bye-run in top32, winning battle with JTP in TOP16, then winning Coffman in Top8. Ryan Tuerck lost battle against event winner James Deane but 3rd qualifying score was enough to put Tuerck in 3rd position and get on podium! Alex Heilbrunn took 2nd place in his IMR BMW and top spot was snagged by biggest anticipation of the year James Deane who returned to Formula Drift after being out of the series for half a decade.

Alex Heilbrunn vs James Deane, Formula Drift Long Beach 2017

TOP 32 bracket:

Photo gallery by Valters Bože: